Webinars to Develop Your Creative Vision

 

Morning glow on Denali

“The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera.”

– Dorothea Lange

 
 

Active Photo Tours webinars are for outdoor photographers who want to continue to improve their creative vision.

Most webinars are free (except where noted) and are presented on the Zoom platform.
Registration is required – passwords most often are not.

 

PAID WEBINARS

 

Team of horses running kicking up dust in its path. © Michael DeYoung

Action and Motion Photography Webinar

Hosted by Arizona Highways PhotoScapes

This 3 series webinar via Zoom will show you need to do in order to consistently create action images. We don’t learn by simply watching webinars. We learn by doing. Participants will be given assignments and are encouraged to practice and share one image for critique.

Dates: Tuesdays: Jan 26, Feb 2, Feb 9, 2021

Time: 3:00pm PST; 4:00pm MST/AZ; 5:00 pm CST ; 6:00 pm EST

Cost: $79

Registration Closes: Wednesday, Jan 20, 2021

Session 1: How do I get a sharp shot? Developing motor skills and optimizing camera settings for maximizing focus accuracy in any action situation. Using AI-Servo or Continuous AF modes, using subject or face detection and how well it works. How and when to use tried and true, old school focus when modern technology fails. Practicing changing focus points and settings on the fly.

Session 2: Exposure and composition for action. Best exposure settings and practices for creative effects, such as showing movement or freezing action. How to anticipate and capture or orchestrate peak action and decisive moments. Choosing the right shutter speed for different action situations and subject(s) distances from the camera. Working with more than one subject in the frame. Critique of one image per participant from session 1 assignment.

Session 3: Creative composition and design for action photography. Shooting from a participant’s point of view, lens choice and favorable angles, what to look out for and avoid for human subjects. Working with water, snow and bad weather. Critique of one image per participant from session 2 assignment. Time permitting: introduction to mixing artificial lighting for visual separation and creative effects.

Photographer capturing close-ups of lupines near Girdwood, Alaska

Demystifying Camera Operation Webinar

Hosted by Arizona Highways PhotoScapes

 

This informative and visual webinar is designed for the emerging photographer or any shooter who is overwhelmed with the seemingly endless menu options of today’s digital camera operations. Let’s wade through all the buttons and menu options and focus on what really matters.

Dates: Mar 3, 2021

Time: 3:00pm PST; 4:00pm MST/AZ; 5:00 pm CST ; 6:00 pm EST

Cost: $15

Registration Closes: Mar 2, 2021

 

FREE WEBINARS

 

If you like our courses and find value in them, please consider a small donation to help keep our free webinars going.

 

 
Winter trail runner on West Rim Trail. Taos, New Mexico

Let the Light Be Your Guide –
Matching What You Shoot to the Given Lighting

Learn how to make captivating impactful imagery in any lighting including marginal and stormy weather.

Dates: Feb 10, 2021

Time: 6:00pm PST; 7:00pm MST/AZ; 8:00 pm CST ; 9:00 pm EST

 

No Recording will be made

Woman jumping in air © Michael DeYoung

Lighten Up!

Learn the art of backcountry photography or ultralight travel photography going off the beaten path with minimal gear and still coming back with pro results.

Dates: Mar 10, 2021

Time: 6:00pm PST; 7:00pm MST/AZ; 8:00 pm CST ; 9:00 pm EST

 

No Recording will be made

 

* * * PLEASE NOTE * * *

Upon registering, you will receive an email from us with a subject line that includes the webinar title followed by the word, “Confirmation”. If you do not receive the confirmation email within 10 minutes of registering, please check your spam folder first and then, if still not found, email us.

Be sure to save this confirmation email so you can easily find it before the meeting.

We strongly encourage you add the notice to your calendar app whether it be iCal, Google, Yahoo, or Outlook calendar. Once saved to your calendar, it will remind you of the upcoming meeting. You can find the link to add the notice to your calendar in the confirmation email. The links to add to your calendar is located towards the middle of the email: “Add to calendar, Add to Google Calendar, Add to Yahoo Calendar” (For iCal users, select the first option “Add to Calendar” . It will create an .ics file type that, when double clicked, will open and add to your iCal app.)

 

Below is a sample of the confirmation email and where to look for the meeting ID.

 

Meeting Confirmation Email Sample

 
 

Webinars to Develop Your Creative Vision

DeYoung Photo Workshops, LLC

Sign Up For Our FREE Newsletters Featuring 'Tips for Taking Better Photographs', Special Offers, and Other Announcements

Panoramic image of traveler taking in the glorious view of Denali by a pond

Check your inbox for an email to complete the sign-up process.